Can You Spot the Muncaster Ghost in this Picture?

A walk through Muncaster wood. Photo by Graham Richards.

Can you see her? Photo by Graham Richards using a setting that only shows the color green.

I have been on a long and winding road to my ancestral home of Muncaster Castle for nearly 13 years. After dozens of journals, archives, and ghost stories we arrived in Cumbria on 21 August. Husband took this picture while we were ambling up the footpath between Ravenglass and Muncaster. These woods are believed to be inhabited by the ghost of Mary Bragg, a heartbroken 19th century maid murdered nearby. The poor dear was in love with a footman at our castle, but so was one of the castle maids. It did not end well. Love triangles are always sticky, you know.

I will be further exploring the story of Mary Bragg in my book, The Baroness and Fool. It was not until last night that we noticed an extra face in the photograph above. I was having great fun terrorizing my editor, Doctor Bethany, with photos catching only the green (thus my appearance), when my roommate asked the see the picture up close and instantly zoomed to investigate an inconsistent shadow beneath the tree. Upon examination, I have determined to analyze this picture closely. I’ve been studying Hans Holzer, Lloyd Auerbach, and Ghostbusters for such a time as this.

So tell me, do you see her?

For email updates of more stories like this, sign up for the Baroness and Fool newsletter.

Leave a Reply

